Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 1st, 2024, 6:20am

Balance: £6.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« 2.9 tappets, 12 valve, Adjustable? »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   2.9 tappets, 12 valve, Adjustable?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: 2.9 tappets, 12 valve, Adjustable?  (Read 2866 times)
Allen

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

2.9 tappets, 12 valve, Adjustable?
« on: Sep 4th, 2005, 10:06pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I recently purchased a 96, 2.9 12 valve and all is well and good except for the annoying sound from one of the tappets.
It isnt bad by any means but its audible and i was wondering if what i have heard regarding the 2.9 12 valve tappets being manually adjustable was correct.
If so, does anybody know the specified clearances for inlet and exhaust and a basic explanation of the procedure / cam positioning.
IP Logged
Eric_R
Administrator

Cosworth Owner 1998 - 2006 & site co-founder

View Profile

Re: 2.9 tappets, 12 valve, Adjustable?
« Reply #1 on: Sep 5th, 2005, 11:36am »

Allen,
The tappets on your 12V engine are hydraulic, and should not be adjusted because any wear should be taken up by the oil pressure inside the tappet - the Cologne engine went to hydraulic tappets in 1992.

If you have a noisy tappet it is not filling with oil properly.  This could be due to wear, gunge in the oil passages, low oil pressure, the wrong grade of engine oil used, or a mixture of all those.