Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 7th, 2024, 11:27pm

Balance: £11.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Coolant surging and overflowing »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   Coolant surging and overflowing
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Coolant surging and overflowing  (Read 1455 times)
wolfblood

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

Coolant surging and overflowing
« on: Feb 7th, 2010, 8:58pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi guys

I have just fitted a new hose following problems with a leak see here for details:
http://www.fordscorpio.co.uk/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.pl?board=Advice;action=di splay;num=1262101495;start=15#18

The latest issue is in filling the coolant.

We filled it up let the engine run to get warm waiting for the fans to kick in but instead about 5 minutes later the expansion tank just overflowed.

Tried it about 5 times incase there was an airlock same thing every time about 5 minutes from starting the engine (engine already warm so didn't have to wait for it to get to temperature)  the expansion tank overflowed dumping an absolute shedload of water.

I did notice the top inlet pipe on the expansion tank was blocked so we cleared that out same thing happened again.

System has had a headgasket leak check and no issues found.

We are both at a loss on this one.
IP Logged
PJDavis

2 x 1995 Jag X300 3.2 / 4.0 (Henley)   1957 XK140

View Profile Email

Re: Coolant surging and overflowing
« Reply #1 on: Feb 7th, 2010, 10:28pm »