Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 7th, 2024, 5:25am

Balance: £6.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« ABS light staying on »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   ABS light staying on
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: ABS light staying on  (Read 4457 times)
leewar

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

ABS light staying on
« on: Aug 25th, 2009, 10:27am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

My '95 2.0 ultima has the wretched abs light coming on at the 12-15 mph speeds. Angry I have removed the sensors from the back and cleaned them as they were covered in so much crap it was unbelievable.
Question 1. Do you clean the sensor ring and how do you do it ??  
I have tried to remove the front sensors but to no avail so I need to clean them in situ. They look dirty on the face.
Question 2. What is the best way to clean the face of the sensor ( no compressor available here) and what with?
The front sensor rings I have read should have a plastic cone covering them but mine does not have them so the rings look quite dirty.
Question 3. What do you clean the sensor rings with, especially the face of the cogs? Your invaluable help would be much appreciated.
IP Logged
Tompion
Administrator

1997 2.3 Ultima estate.

View Profile

Re: ABS light staying on
« Reply #1 on: Aug 25th, 2009, 11:24am »

Front sensors are usually rusted in and best left alone if they don’t move easily.

It’s between the teeth of the sensor rings & the face of the sensors that need attention.
You should be able to get a bit of rag between the sensor & sensor ring & turn the wheel to clean the faces of the front sensors.