Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 12:28am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« My Gearbox Woes  NOW gone to Ebay »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   My Gearbox Woes  NOW gone to Ebay
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: My Gearbox Woes  NOW gone to Ebay  (Read 2635 times)
zero

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

My Gearbox Woes  NOW gone to Ebay
« on: Nov 12th, 2010, 10:36am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I don't know if you have read my last thread, but just to recap quickly.

About 2 months ago, I notice the fuel shutoff loom was badly blistered on the isulation, cause it was not running well we (my stepson (SS) is a mechanic) changed the loom and it was notice the car was not idleing well either, my SS sugested changing the Idle control valve too which was done.  

I think I was just unlucky, but at the same time the gearbox became clunky specially when changing from 1st to 2nd, and when coming to a halt ie changing back down to first, ready to pull away.  it was suggested on here, it could be the MAF, so following the cleaning instructions I cleaned it, and sadly there was little difference.

By a stroke of fortune, browing ebay, I found a seller selling new MAF's at half the price of ford, and others, so I though in for a penny, and bought one, the cars performance didn't actually improve straight away, but after a day or so the gearbox operation returned to almost normal operation for a while.  however I should add that in that time the car was not used much and it was much colder (ie it was the time when the winter lights came on for the first time)