Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 12:29pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Engine pinking »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Engine pinking
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Engine pinking  (Read 4634 times)
magnetono59

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Engine pinking
« on: Feb 6th, 2012, 7:28pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

My car is a Scorpio 2L 16V estate 1996. My problem is that the engine will start OK and will rev OK in neutral but will pink under load particularly on hills.
I have cleaned the MAF but it made no difference. I have the usual problem with the loom being damaged due to engine heat but it has been like that for many years. I am reluctant to replace it not knowing if it is the problem. Does anybody know if the damaged wires can be replaced with heat resistant wire.
I have read articles on the site about OBD and I would like to know if the lead and software would be a good investment, or does any member have a lead for sale.
Any help with my problem would be appreciated.
IP Logged
a900one

A scorpio is for life not just for christmas

View Profile Email

Re: Engine pinking
« Reply #1 on: Feb 6th, 2012, 8:09pm »

Have you tried V Power?.
IP Logged
Tompion
Administrator

1997 2.3 Ultima estate.

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Feb 6th, 2012, 10:08pm »

A member of the site had problems with pinking on his 2.3 which turned out to be a faulty camshaft sensor. Check the wiring to yours isn’t shorting or trapped under the coilpack cover.
My 2.3 will run fine without the cam sensor connected I assume the same applies to the 2.0 so you could try disconnecting it to see if it makes a difference.