Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 20th, 2024, 2:31pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Clock Spring replacement »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   Clock Spring replacement
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Clock Spring replacement  (Read 440 times)
landbarge

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Clock Spring replacement
« on: Jun 4th, 2006, 10:44pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

After following all the information regarding my Faulty Horn problem - see Problems entry - I decided to replace the Clock Spring.

Whilst at the Ford Dealership buying a Link Rod for the off side I asked about a replacement for the Clock Spring.  I was expecting a huge dent in the credit card, but was delighted to hear that it was cheaper than the link rod.  With the VAT it was just over £40.

Installation took just 55 mins, and most of that was working out how Ford positioned the locking clips on some of the connectors.

Follow the instructions from the Ford downloads available through this site. You will need 'Clockspring - Air Bag Control - Remove and Install (33 392 0).

YOU MUST wait for 30mins after disconnecting the battery before messing with the air bag.  Ford say 15mins, give it longer.  You can remove the airbag from outside of your car quite easily.  The fixing screws are said to be Torcx screws, mine were No.4 hex screws.

The wires down the steering column were fixed with several zip ties.  On replacing the unit, I found one was ample.

Look closely at the route the cables follow and feel confident at removing any necessary clips and connectors that are in the way.