Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 4:38pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Another Newbie wot needs some advice! »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   Another Newbie wot needs some advice!
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Another Newbie wot needs some advice!  (Read 706 times)
madein1978

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

Another Newbie wot needs some advice!
« on: Aug 7th, 2006, 5:03pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi folks, I'm new to the forum, and I daresay this shan't be the last you hear from me! I'm very seriously considering buying a Scorpio (or Granada) V6 24v Cosworth and I was wondering what are the pitfalls of buying such a car apart from the usual ones you would look at with any used car? I'm referring in particular to the timing chain Vis a Vis the unusual situation of having to replace it like you would a rubber timing belt at a particular mileage, it sounds costly and a bit scary as I looked at the procedure and it looks a bit more complicated than a timing belt. Most other chain driven engines I've dealt with, the chain usually lasts the lifetime of the engine, which includes the car I will be selling for the cossie, an Alfa 164 Twin Spark, it has a DOHC chain driven engine with VVT and apart from adjusting the tensioner it has recieved no attention in 25,000 miles, and I'm reliably informed that the chain and engine can carry on to 200,000 miles without needing any major attention. So if anyone can give me any pearls of wisdom about these cars, Thanks!
IP Logged
bizzay1

1997 Cosworth Saloon

View Profile

Re: Another Newbie wot needs some advice!
« Reply #1 on: Aug 7th, 2006, 5:48pm »