Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 2:31am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« car fire »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   car fire
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: car fire  (Read 7288 times)
ashley

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

car fire
« on: Aug 27th, 2006, 11:00am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Fellow Scorpio owners Be Aware I am a disabled driver, last Sunday whilst a few hundred yards from home my Scorpio developed a smell that was obviously something getting hot.  On turning the ignition off I could hear a whirring noise coming from the back of the car, outside the car it was obvious that the noise was coming from around the area off the petrol filler cap. So thinking it maybe the petrol pump running  I decided to take off the battery leads. On opening the bonnet I noticed a stronger  smell of burning, so I hurried to remove the battery leads. As I did so I could see light smoke coming from the  fuse box. I removed the lid to the fuse box, between the side of the fuse box and the floor of the fuse box I could see a red glow tiny sparks and flames part of the fuse box lid was missing and the fuse box wall bowed out. I quickly removed the leads from the battery. Then telephoned the fire brigade, Going back to the car with the fire extinguisher I noticed the flames etc had gone out but the fuse box was still very hot. After a few minutes the fire brigade arrived and examined the car for fire that may have spread to any other part of the car.
They praised my action in removing the battery lead as it had definitely stopped a major fire and that the car would have gone up in smoke without my actions.