Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 2:29am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« ticking »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   ticking
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: ticking  (Read 804 times)
ashley

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

ticking
« on: Oct 9th, 2006, 1:01pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi after losing my scorpio in the fire I am  still trying to find a Scorpio, I have found one its £1300 with a full years MOT and tax until 5/2007.  It has 76,000 on a p/1996  2.3 with full service history.   As well a having some rust spots around the back wheel arches its has a very light ticking that seems to come from around the drivers door or betwen there and the wheel.  Whilst the car is stationery this ticking is not heard, however it does not seem to change frequency or time when speed is increased or decreased.  It is very quiet and light almost as audilble as a pocket watch, never getting and louder or quieter.  Also the steering wheel is slightly off centre and other observations include the auxilary fuse box could be brand new  screws are shiny.  Any thoughts would be appreciated    Ashley
IP Logged
TiberiuS

Ex. 1996 2.3 Ultima - RIP P789 KHJ

View Profile WWW Email

Re: ticking
« Reply #1 on: Oct 9th, 2006, 5:08pm »

Welcome back Ashley Smiley

Rust isn't too bad a problem, my 2.3 has a trace where the rear arches meet the bumper (on my 'jobs to do' list Wink), it seems the salt/mud collects on the edge of the wheel arch liner.

As for the ticking sound I'm not quite sure what it could be, perhaps something aftermarket fitted? It's not possibly a relay is it?