Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 6:22am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« cyliner head gasket replacement »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   cyliner head gasket replacement
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: cyliner head gasket replacement  (Read 351 times)
foxie3888

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

cyliner head gasket replacement
« on: Oct 31st, 2006, 2:16pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi I have a scorpio 2.3 16v with a blown head gasket between cylinders 3 and 4 in order to remove the burn marks out of the head 0.50mm has to be skimmed from it . the present depth of the head is 147.599 mm and with the information obtained from the site the minimum this can be is 147.45 mm only allowing .149 mm to be skimmed does anyone have a solution to this I thought maybe 2 headgaskets has anyone tried this with success HuhHuh
IP Logged
Spannerdemon

Email

Re: cyliner head gasket replacement
« Reply #1 on: Oct 31st, 2006, 2:39pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

This is definitely not an option. Absolutely not.

It can be done with some older engines, and with some marine applications (in fact some engines require 2 gaskets), but for this engine..........NO!!

A car engine is subjected to extreme forces and temperatures. Combustion occurs between the piston and cylinder head. In time the temperature and forces associated with this combustion will warp or burn the surface of the cylinder head. This is directly in the gasket area, so you'd have BIG problems.