Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 6:25am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« 2.3  Ultima Estate Auto O/D  ?? »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   2.3  Ultima Estate Auto O/D  ??
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: 2.3  Ultima Estate Auto O/D  ??  (Read 336 times)
paulw

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

2.3  Ultima Estate Auto O/D  ??
« on: Nov 7th, 2006, 5:46pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi everyone,
  Have driven a Granada 2.0 Estate for over 6 years,
best car I`ve ever had ,in every way. Have only ever opened bonnet to check oil etc then quickly shut it again. The garage has done what little else has been  
needed.
 I am now considering a `98 2.3 Ultima estate Auto O/D, with 111k miles on the  clock. What are the worst things  
that might happen? I have heard that the auto-box
may give trouble, and also, slightly less of a worry,
the head gasket .

Anyone with any expert advice ?
IP Logged
Dave2302

2006 Mercedes S55 AMG, Retired Barefoot Waterskier

View Profile Email

Re: 2.3  Ultima Estate Auto O/D  ??
« Reply #1 on: Nov 7th, 2006, 6:25pm »

Hi Paul,

Autobox is no better or worse than many others, unfortunately the mileage on the car means the box has done well, and I beleive there is a problem with Inlet Manifolds cracking on these engines too.  I'm an ex auto box man though so haven't had a lot of experience re this particular engine.

As far as the Transmission goes though, if it is driving ok in all the gears, remove the pan, change the fluid and filter, clean the pan and magnet and put it back with a new gasket.  This will significantly extend the life of the gearbox.   Wink