Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 20th, 2024, 12:20am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Autobox slipping »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   Autobox slipping
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Autobox slipping  (Read 490 times)
camaro

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Autobox slipping
« on: Jan 8th, 2007, 10:36pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

My gearbox seems to lose drive for about 2 seconds when changing between first and second gear. The revs rise an extra 250 to 500 rpm but no acceleration for about 2 seconds. Sometimes this condition happens with a slight rumble from the rear of the car. Any idea guys? It a 95 cossie which i have not had long. My father has got the 2.3 ultima with a manual which i would rather (the manual transmission). I have heard that the auto trannys are not very reliable?
IP Logged
TiberiuS

Ex. 1996 2.3 Ultima - RIP P789 KHJ

View Profile WWW Email

Re: Autobox slipping
« Reply #1 on: Jan 9th, 2007, 6:09pm »

Auto trannies are reliable enough while they're working but seem to have a shorter life than a lot of others. Get it scanned first of all, there may be a fault code pointing to a solenoid or something....fairly easy fix.

Not sure about the rumble, sounds like diff or propshaft bearing?

Regards, Bruce.
IP Logged

Bruce - '07 Jaguar XKR coupe, '95 Jaguar XJ Sport 4.0, '82 Ford Capri 2.0 Ghia, '15 Honda Civic (sloooooww..)
Zombie

Will dance for petrol...

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Jan 10th, 2007, 11:24pm »

Don't get too depressed about this sort of thing unless you have had it confirmed that the box is jiggered.