Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 8:28pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Brake Judder »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   Brake Judder
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Brake Judder  (Read 644 times)
catalina

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Brake Judder
« on: Apr 6th, 2007, 1:16am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

My Cossie has suddenly developed steering judder when braking normally. Not an ABS type problem.

I replaced the front brake discs about 10000 miles back, so was hoping they haven't suddenly become warped (Can that happen? )
There doesn't seem to be any indication that the shock absorbers are a problem since the car drives perfectly on all road surfaces and at all speeds.

Is there anything else I should check on before investing in another pair of discs? The present ones are hardly worn.

My main concern is that the problem developed very quickly and is getting rapidly worse.

John Undecided
IP Logged

Still learning, slowly.
Jonnycab

Former owner of 2.3 Ultima Facelift saloon

View Profile

Re: Brake Judder
« Reply #1 on: Apr 6th, 2007, 2:15am »

Does the juddering seem worse when breaking at higher speeds than it does around town (hardly notice it) ?

If so, then it does point toward the discs being warped  Smiley
IP Logged
Spannerdemon

Email

« Reply #2 on: Apr 6th, 2007, 5:11am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

Check all the ball joints, wishbones, bushes, wheel balancing and wheel bearings without delay.