Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 22nd, 2024, 12:26pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Can you tow a caravan with a Scorpio »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   Can you tow a caravan with a Scorpio
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Can you tow a caravan with a Scorpio  (Read 1542 times)
The_Wheelchair_Kid

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

Can you tow a caravan with a Scorpio
« on: Jun 8th, 2007, 1:39pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi to all
   I am disabled and looking to buy a Ford Scorpio 2.9 auto Estate. I had a vauxhall Omega 2.5 auto Estate, but never towed with it, but I want to but a Scorpio and tow a caravan with it, do they tow ok? and what weight or size caravan could I safefly tow with a 2.9 auto Estate? Huh I have got a Ford Explorer 4x4 at the moment and love it, but it is too hard getting in and out of it, due to the size of it Embarassed
     thank you for all of your help
       Jason
      the Wheelchair Kid Wink
IP Logged

It was not me, I did not touch it, i was not there
Spannerdemon

Email

Re: Can you tow a caravan with a Scorpio
« Reply #1 on: Jun 8th, 2007, 2:35pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

Hi and welcome.  Smiley

Yes. We tow our Lunar 4 berth (21' length) with ours, and have no problems.

The Scorpio's are a little bit spineless on really steep hills, and I still preferred our (old) Volvo (940GLE Turbo) for towing if I'm honest, but generally you won't have much trouble towing with the Scorpio.

I'd personally go for a Manual rather than an auto box.  Manuals are a better bet for towing caravans in my own experience of caravanning for 20+ years.