Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 23rd, 2024, 4:27am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« fan ? »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   fan ?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: fan ?  (Read 563 times)
dan_the_man

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

fan ?
« on: Dec 14th, 2007, 12:16am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

howdy folks, I have recantly had my temperature guage up to the bottom of the red. well a couple of mm short.
   I was amazed when it caught my eye that the fan never kicked in . is this usual ?  
   my mechanic said this is normal . . . in previous vehicle's I've owned I seem to remember it kicking in at about 3/4 the way up the guage.
   I checked and have plenty of coolant in .

on another request for info . I've just had a new heater Matrix and thermostat fitted . the heater aint all I wished it may have been. and doesnt even walm ones thingyles till the temp guage is half way up !
IP Logged
dan_the_man

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Re: fan ?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 14th, 2007, 12:57am »

just re looked up The 'Johnnycab' method . this should hopefully sort out some of my concerns.
IP Logged
Jonnycab

Former owner of 2.3 Ultima Facelift saloon

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Dec 14th, 2007, 4:06am »

Hi Dan......after having a new heater matrix & t-stat fitted, then it should be hot as hell & the temp guage should be sitting nicely in the middle.

The heater should start chucking out warmth in less than a mile (mine does), as the rapidly heated water flowing around the engine flows through the matrix also, & the engine temp guage should be normal temp (middle) after about 2-3 miles, & should stay in the middle without going up & down  Smiley