Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 23rd, 2024, 5:17pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Rewiring main engine loom »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   Rewiring main engine loom
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Rewiring main engine loom  (Read 1872 times)
tintin

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

Rewiring main engine loom
« on: Jul 1st, 2008, 2:53pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

ok, gonna bite the bullet and try a new engine loom on my derelict of a cossie  Grin

I have the complete loom off my scrapper, and the plan is to cut out all the wiring and replace with new. Plan is to not try to solder etc onto "ends" but just replace wiring close to each junction, with extra length to allow for re-routing.  

Given my lack of skills / experience with wiring, what is the easiest/most waterproof way to make the joins? Im thinking wrap together and heat shrink them.

Also, how do i know what wiring to use for each length, in terms of specification?

I feel an expensive trip to Maplins coming on  Grin

Thanks in advance,
IP Logged

'95 Cosworth Ultima
Tompion
Administrator

1997 2.3 Ultima estate.

View Profile

Re: Rewiring main engine loom
« Reply #1 on: Jul 1st, 2008, 4:10pm »

I’ve not tried them but you could have a look at these connectors:

“These terminals offer outstanding mechanical and weather resistance due to the use of a tough heat shrinkable polyamide sleeve, lined with a special hot melt adhesive around the crimp metal barrel. After crimping the terminal sleeve is heated until adhesive melts and flows filling voids and providing excellent sealing with the cable.
* Temperature rating -55C to + 125C”

http://www.vehicle-wiring-products.eu/VWP-onlinestore/terminalspreins/he atsealterms.php