Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 24th, 2024, 2:28am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Rear Wheel Bearing....again! »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   Rear Wheel Bearing....again!
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Rear Wheel Bearing....again!  (Read 802 times)
mindofitsown

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Rear Wheel Bearing....again!
« on: Oct 22nd, 2008, 1:25pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Offside rear wheel bearing has gone again. Admitedly last time I replaced it complete with housing from a dump because I couldn't get the old races out. This time I want to do it properly. So, three questions:
Anyone know how to get the races out of the carrier?
Anyone know where to get a replacement kit?
Anyone know why these bearings fail so often?
Regards,
IP Logged
Snoopy
Administrator

Very old.BAD tempered and missing friends.

View Profile Email

Re: Rear Wheel Bearing....again!
« Reply #1 on: Oct 22nd, 2008, 1:31pm »

The bearing caps can be knocked out using a drift and the most common cause of failure is incorrect fitting OR poor quality bearing sets .
The bearings are standard fitment the same as used on the granada the hubs are a FORD only part.
I did a write up on the main site which might be helpful HERE and also the WORKSHOP HOW TO
IP Logged

HELP the FORUM.Please DONATE
gozz

Been around awhile

View Profile Email

« Reply #2 on: Oct 22nd, 2008, 9:49pm »

mindofitsown.