Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 7th, 2024, 6:26pm

Balance: £11.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Lack of Power »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   Lack of Power
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Lack of Power  (Read 1263 times)
mindofitsown

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Lack of Power
« on: May 18th, 2009, 3:49pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

If I let my Scorp go and get another car it will be for the simple reason that the power has dropped so much over the last few years that overtaking tractors is now dangerous without a half mile stretch of open road ahead. Everything seems fine otherwise. Starts well, high speed cruising is obtainable but it seems to take years to get there whereas when I first got the car in 2004 it went like a rocket. I am having to press the throttle much more these days to get the acceleration I once had before and all that happens is it changes down a lot more often to give me the required torque. It used to accelerate in top gear quite well without changing down so much. Just wished someone on the forum lived close by who has one of these scanner kit jobbies in the hope it would give me a clue where to start in checking things. Maybe like me its just fed up!
IP Logged
amigafan2003

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Re: Lack of Power
« Reply #1 on: May 18th, 2009, 3:58pm »

First things first:-

It'd be quite hgelpul if you told us the engine model Smiley

1:  When were the plugs, leads and fuel filter changed?
2:  When was the last time some injector cleaner was chucked in the tank?
3:  Is the throttle cable stretched?  Does it sit much lower than the brake pedal?  The cable can be adjusted.