Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 5:22am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« 2-3 16v head fitting advice »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   2-3 16v head fitting advice
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: 2-3 16v head fitting advice  (Read 491 times)
ro284

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

2-3 16v head fitting advice
« on: Jan 7th, 2011, 6:26pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

A bit of advice please, ive got a new head to fit, after fitting camshafts/followers etc. to it off the old one, i have done this car before, and someone did it before me, question is, which head gasket to fit, a genuine ford one, or an aftermarket one, and is it best to use hermitite or not?
Also because this time i have oil in the coolant, which has already desolved and blown one heater hose, what is the best way to flush the oil out of the system? any advice gratefully recieved,  
Thanks Bob
IP Logged

Bob Dorset
PJDavis

2 x 1995 Jag X300 3.2 / 4.0 (Henley)   1957 XK140

View Profile Email

Re: 2-3 16v head fitting advice
« Reply #1 on: Jan 8th, 2011, 10:55am »

In the past, and on older cars like my old Zodiac and on an old Triumph Pi that I have, I always put a smear of Hermetite on.    However, on more modern cars you shouldn't need Hermetite, mainly because the heads are more precisely made and mostly aluminium.   As far as gaskets go, you'll get what you pay for.   I'm out of touch with good manufacturers of gaskets, 'Payen' was one that I have used in the past with no problems.   It would be a shame if you used a cheap gasket and found it to be the problem!
I have just recently taken a 2.0ltr head off a brand-new 2.3ltr engine, and it had the Ford three-layer gasket with no sign of any paste.