Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 5:22pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« REINFORCING THE 2-3 MANIFOLD, »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   REINFORCING THE 2-3 MANIFOLD,
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: REINFORCING THE 2-3 MANIFOLD,  (Read 504 times)
ro284

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

REINFORCING THE 2-3 MANIFOLD,
« on: Mar 6th, 2011, 5:43pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Having had two of these fail, I’ve been wondering what could be done to modify the stat housing, to make a good solid repair, rather than patch up the outside, I noticed that the stat housing will flex, even when pushing on a tight fitting heater hose, or tightening the 3 stat bolts! And with the worry it may fail and take the engine with it. I am wondering if it would be possible to turn a 1mill tight-ish fitting sleeve to fit full length inside the housing, with cut out for water flow to the head, and holes for the temp sensor. etc. I think that this would need to be bonded into place , (what adhesive?) And what metal to use? Brass, copper, or steel, bearing in mind the different expansion rates of Metal and the existing plastic? would this be relavant? i would think the entire sleeve would need to be bonded inside the housing to re-enforce it. perhaps with 1 mill.clearance  to allow for adhesive. hoping for thoughts please, it seems to me that a good few of these manifolds could be strengthened in this way, and more 2-3s kept going, So any ideas please guys, I will get my lathe ready. and test it on mine first,  
Thanks Bob
IP Logged

Bob Dorset
Matt

Manual'd and a 4.0 in the making

View Profile Email

Re: REINFORCING THE 2-3 MANIFOLD,
« Reply #1 on: Mar 6th, 2011, 7:14pm »