Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 9:30am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Front Brakes »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   Front Brakes
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Front Brakes  (Read 2127 times)
TomP

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Front Brakes
« on: May 10th, 2011, 1:39pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Scorpio 2.9 12v 1996, 104k miles

Didn't use my Scorpio for the 1st couple of months of the year but since driving it again the front brakes are very juddery and the steering wheel vibrates a lot.

Took it for the MOT last week and very pleased it passed, but now I need to fix the brakes. I assume it needs discs and pads. The discs look to be in poor condition and I notice the reatining clip is still on the hub.....surely that can't mean they are the original discs?

Please can anyone advise a good place (prob on-line) to get replacement discs/pads and what make to go for. Just seen some on www.europarts made by Pagid (£20 per side) and Eicher (£15)....anyone know if they are any good?

Kwik-Fit quoted £180 but trouble is I know will also come away with new exhaust, new tyres and a new set of furry seat covers unless I am very strong!

Also, do I need to bleed the front brakes after fitting discs/pads?

Many thanks
IP Logged
Tompion
Administrator

1997 2.3 Ultima estate.

View Profile

Re: Front Brakes
« Reply #1 on: May 10th, 2011, 2:38pm »

If you’ve had the wheels off muck can drop behind the discs and cause them to run out.
IP Logged

ABS multiplug wheel sensor pins MK IV or MK 20
Simmo
Administrator

I'm an OAP !

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: May 10th, 2011, 3:15pm »