Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 9:24am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Best engine oil for 2.3 auto? »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   Best engine oil for 2.3 auto?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Best engine oil for 2.3 auto?  (Read 651 times)
exaktaman

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

Best engine oil for 2.3 auto?
« on: May 30th, 2011, 7:07pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hello all, Need to do an oil change. I've always used GTX magnatec 10/40 on other cars I've owned.
Been advised that Halford 5/30 semi synthetic is good. What is the general concensus for the best oil to use with  80k on the clock? Oh, and I've been advised to get a Ford filter too.
Exaktaman
IP Logged
scorpio_man
Administrator

Ford Kuga awd

View Profile Email

Re: Best engine oil for 2.3 auto?
« Reply #1 on: May 30th, 2011, 7:27pm »

hi there

the 2.3 uses 5w-30 oil.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320549342743&am p;ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

hth
IP Logged
exaktaman

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

« Reply #2 on: May 30th, 2011, 8:07pm »

Many thanks for the info 'scorpio-man'.
Exaktaman
IP Logged
Simmo
Administrator

I'm an OAP !

View Profile

« Reply #3 on: May 30th, 2011, 8:20pm »

The advice re the filter really relates to a good quality filter. Some cheap ones do not,apparently, have a non return valve in them and thus all the oils drains down rather than some being retained and thus providing oil immediately the engine fires up.
IP Logged

Now I'm an OAP
gozz

Been around awhile

View Profile Email

« Reply #4 on: May 30th, 2011, 9:35pm »