Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 4th, 2024, 7:21am

Balance: £6.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Ethanol in petrol!! »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   Ethanol in petrol!!
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Ethanol in petrol!!  (Read 1314 times)
ro284

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

Ethanol in petrol!!
« on: Jan 3rd, 2012, 10:15pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I read recently that supermarkets now add up to 10% ethanol to petrol. i read this in a car enthusiasts mag, apparently if they add more than 10% they have to put up a sign to say so, According to the mag. in higher percentages it can be a bad thing in older cars, such as seal failure, and possibly other ways as well! i will see if i can find out more, but i never knew about it. anyone have any views or more onfo on this?
 cheers Bob
IP Logged

Bob Dorset
Simmo
Administrator

I'm an OAP !

View Profile

Re: Ethanol in petrol!!
« Reply #1 on: Jan 4th, 2012, 8:00am »

A Google search turned up This article which may help. Would appear to be 'progress'!  Huh.
IP Logged

Now I'm an OAP
martin_rowe

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Jan 4th, 2012, 9:31am »

Its now normal practise to add Etanol to Petrol, think 10% is the limit, though SAAB did market a Bi fuel Ethanol car that would accept upto 15% Ethanol, but that never cought on, not many p[laces that sold the fuel either.
Adding Bio Diesel to normal Diesel also happens, but much over 7% content starts to cause problems with most of the common rail diesel systems, to the extent that we are now advised to test the fuel quality on every vehicle thats presented with a Diesel fault.
IP Logged

Rally Drivers Do It Sideways
Mike H

Renault Clio

View Profile WWW Email