Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 11:02pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Rear Tyres for economy. »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   Rear Tyres for economy.
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Rear Tyres for economy.  (Read 914 times)
ro284

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

Rear Tyres for economy.
« on: Jan 28th, 2013, 11:12am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I've been checking my tyres, At the moment i have 225/50/16, All round, the rears are badly worn, the fronts have around 6 mill tread on both, i checked the rolling distance between front and rear, The result is that the worn rears do 1-inch less distance per revolution, so in theory i would get better mpg if i fitted new tyres! Even  If i kept to the same size i would get an extra inch Per revolution! That is a lot of inches over say 10 miles! So if i were to go to 225-60-16 in theory i might improve on the 29 mpg, i am getting now! And /or travel further for the same cost! Any thoughts on this, Where do you stop? Bob
IP Logged

Bob Dorset
Matt

Manual'd and a 4.0 in the making

View Profile Email

Re: Rear Tyres for economy.
« Reply #1 on: Jan 28th, 2013, 12:29pm »

a quick test would be to swap the wheels round, front to back and vise versa
IP Logged

FDS2000 Scans - Birmingham
bernard_slade

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Jan 28th, 2013, 7:29pm »