Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 1st, 2024, 4:15pm

Balance: £6.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Fuel pump problem? »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   Fuel pump problem?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Fuel pump problem?  (Read 4139 times)
wolfblood

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

Fuel pump problem?
« on: Apr 16th, 2013, 5:47pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi everyone my 24v decided.to lose all power this morning during rush hour as I pulled onto the main road. Starter motor turns but engine not firing. Green Flag guy came out and sprayed some of that cold start spray into the air intake and engine started then stopped. Guy says it looks like fuel pump. Car is now outside house. Are there any roadside tests I could do to confirm its the pump?
IP Logged
Matt

Manual'd and a 4.0 in the making

View Profile Email

Re: Fuel pump problem?
« Reply #1 on: Apr 16th, 2013, 5:54pm »

if you put ignition on you should hear the pump run for a  second or 2, if not try the fuel cut off switch in the boot, its a little red button which is by the boot catch on a saloon and behind a side panel in load area on estate, it should be pressed down
IP Logged

FDS2000 Scans - Birmingham
wolfblood

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

« Reply #2 on: Apr 16th, 2013, 9:33pm »

Can hear a noise for a second or two when turn key to just before starter engages. Don't know if it is significant but turned the engine when came back from work and it started for a few seconds then stuttered then stopped.
IP Logged
Andycan

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

« Reply #3 on: Apr 16th, 2013, 9:46pm »

maybe the fuel filter needs replacing? you will need to check that there is fuel getting up to the engine.
IP Logged
Matt