Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jun 30th, 2024, 4:30pm

Balance: £6.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Oil Pump Drive »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Give/Need advice to/from others
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   Oil Pump Drive
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Oil Pump Drive  (Read 142 times)
cobrascim

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Oil Pump Drive
« on: Sep 30th, 2023, 8:45am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Morning all. Came across a question on another forum about the standard 2.9 engine(non Cosworth) that intrigued me. A chap was asking if you could use the blanking unit which incorporates a drive gear for the oil pump (to keep it working) from the 4 litre cologne in the 2.9 to get rid of the distributor. Obviously he must be looking at using EDIS or something similar. I told him I have done this mod on my 2.9 many years ago (early noughties).  
Anyway question came up on how the oil pump is driven on the 24V. The exploded diagram on this forum shows the same drive gear but what confuses me is how that is now driven as the cams are now up in the heads. Can anyone shed a light? I have my spare BOB out in shed but dont want to strip it down as yet.
John.
IP Logged
cobrascim

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Re: Oil Pump Drive
« Reply #1 on: Sep 30th, 2023, 9:06am »

Found this on the "Ford Cologne V6 Engine" wiki page  
The standard Ford-issued block was machined differently to improve strength. In place of the single-cam arrangement, an endless duplex hydraulically tensioned timing chain was used to drive the overhead cams. The chain measured 2.2 m (7 ft 3 in).[3] The casting and bearings for the standard underhead cam were repurposed for a shaft which drove the oil pump.