Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jun 30th, 2024, 10:18pm

Balance: £6.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« lambda sensors »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   OBD Advice
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   lambda sensors
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: lambda sensors  (Read 1282 times)
panzer

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

lambda sensors
« on: Aug 29th, 2005, 1:54pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

iam a bit of a newbie,can anybody help! i want to change my sensors pre cat on my 1996 24v i had scan done with codes p1133 & p1154 i know what these codes mean, but am i ok to change sensors without clearing codes, i have no lead obd2 or code reader
i dont want the car to fault out and go into limp home mode,can i leave it until i vist garage.
IP Logged
Eric_R
Administrator

Cosworth Owner 1998 - 2006 & site co-founder

View Profile

Re: lambda sensors
« Reply #1 on: Sep 4th, 2005, 11:14am »

Panzer,
Even if the HO2S sensors completely fail, the fuelling will stay in OPEN LOOP and will run quite happily, although it will fail an MOT for excess emissions and use a lot of petrol.  These sensors don't cause Limited Operation Strategy.

The HO2S sensors can fail to switch for other reasons than failing themselves, so if the problem is elsewhere then even new sensors will fail to switch and you won't be any further forward.
P1133 usually means that a sensor is failing - but not always.  If you do mean P1154 and not 1134 then the bank 2 fuelling is too high.

Before you commit yourself I would try and meet an owner equipped with an OBD lead and get him to do a scan, while the engine is hot at idle and a run round the block.  Get him to select  
RPM
MPH
HO2S11 and 12
HO2S21 and 22
LTFT1 and LTFT2