Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 10:18pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« vehicle tax...... »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Off Topic Subjects
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   vehicle tax......
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: vehicle tax......  (Read 976 times)
taliban aka Cheekyboy2

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

vehicle tax......
« on: Jun 15th, 2006, 10:19pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

isnt it about time this unfair over priced system was abolished?

before i owned the scorpio i had an old peugeot 205 diesel, it was worth no more than 100 quid, but, was mechanically sound, gave low emission results, returned a minimum of 40mpg, and had a light kerb weight. but, because the engine size was about 1780cc it meant i paid the same road tax as someone who owns a 2 tonne bentley (more weight more road damage) that returns 15mpg, kicks out greenhouse gas through the air con, uses probably 3 or 4 times the amount of oil in the tyre manufacture etc etc. not that i have anything against bentleys, i love em, but the tax is an unfair system.
why not put it on fuel; the more miles you do, the more tax you pay, if you own a gas guzzler, the more you pay. if you dont use your vehicle for a few months, you pay no tax, none of this SORN bollox.
but of course the present system works in the governments favour whoever the government is.
IP Logged

Jonnycab

Former owner of 2.3 Ultima Facelift saloon

View Profile

Re: vehicle tax......
« Reply #1 on: Jun 16th, 2006, 2:56am »

NoNoTax is already on fuel!!  If you use more fuel...ergo....you pay more tax.