Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 20th, 2024, 2:23pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« pay rise »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Off Topic Subjects
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   pay rise
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3  4 Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: pay rise  (Read 3441 times)
pagey

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

pay rise
« on: Jun 8th, 2007, 5:05pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hello to all. Wondered if anyone knows the answer to this one. We've just had a pay rise at work and although certain individuals do the same job, they are paid different hourly rates,  for instance, i'll be welding a bracket and the guy in the bay next to me will be welding one as well, but he is paid the higher rate. Up 'til now, we have had equal pay. It seems as tho' qualification is not the issue but whether you get on with the guvner or not. Don't like it. By the way, we are part of an enormous group so it's not a backstreet outfit. Have been looking on the net for an answer but it all seems geared in the employers favour. Am looking for a meet with the MD next week so any "ammo" would be appreciated.
Kind regards.
Trev.   Angry
IP Logged
big_neil

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

Re: pay rise
« Reply #1 on: Jun 8th, 2007, 7:07pm »

reminds me when i used to work, i served my time for 5 yrs and done the job for 35 yrs, then some upstart arrived and said he,d done a 5 week crash course on my job and was payed the same as me. he then had the cheek to ask me many a time "what do i do now",  my answer was "get on with it smart a**e, as we worked on live underground mains cables backed up with 400amp fuses fireworks happened a lot with these upstarts. no body was seriously hurt but a few tingles were probably felt.