Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 20th, 2024, 6:14pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« natures amazing..... »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Off Topic Subjects
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   natures amazing.....
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: natures amazing.....  (Read 2162 times)
taliban aka Cheekyboy2

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

natures amazing.....
« on: May 1st, 2008, 9:34pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

there i am tidying up my flat on a sunny spring evening, windows open etc when i hear a bird squawking in panic/terror, i look round, there's only jessie in so i think, oh no, alfie's been out for a take away, but, the bird is still squawking? i look out the back window looking for alfie, no sign except the white cat (alfies most hated enemy) is sat there transfixed by something? i look around again and there it is just 10 feet from my window a beautiful bird of prey, hawk? falcon? dunno, it was mainly grey in colour and not really any bigger than a pidgeon and was looking at its catch which was pinned to the ground under one foot. it then plucked it and ate it. just a shame i couldnt capture it on camera, never seen that in real life, not bad for inner london. the only concern i have is the bird it caught; just lately i've noticed a pair of sparrows fluttering about which is good as they're the first i've seen in london for over a year (their numbers have declined by about 80% or more in london over 10 years), so i hope there is still a pair....
IP Logged

gozz

Been around awhile

View Profile Email

Re: natures amazing.....
« Reply #1 on: May 1st, 2008, 11:02pm »

tali.
It was almost certainly a sparrowhawk.We bog dwellers see them frequently.They usually just leave the wings,a bit tough I suppose.
         GOZZ.
IP Logged
Jonnycab