Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 8:26am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Engine Idle Problems/ Stalling »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Engine Idle Problems/ Stalling
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Engine Idle Problems/ Stalling  (Read 1456 times)
Scooby

Fleas? What Fleas?!

View Profile

Engine Idle Problems/ Stalling
« on: Apr 2nd, 2004, 9:50am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Guys, Can any of you please help me?!
I am a complete novice when it comes to Mechanical Engineering so I have always relied on the 'stab in the dark' approach to troubleshooting my problems!

Let's start from the beginning!

Ever-since I had my 12V Scorp the Idle (arround 1000 in Neutral and 800 in Drive) has been 'hunting' slightly.
This has never bothered me too much as it has been the only (minor) fault on my beast.
However, sitting in traffic the other day (edging all the time- so ticking over in drive with my breaks on) the car suddenly stalled (due to the idle speed struggling at 600ish and then dropping off). The car has never done this before, even in far worse traffic.
I started up again....no problems there, but a minute or two later it stalled again.
I managed to prevent this from happening again by slipping in and out of drive/neutral (neutral idling at about 8/900) for the rest of the jam. I was a little worried!
The next day, she started as she always does...but stalled straight-away (something else she has never done) and I struggled to get away in drive by keeping the revs up and break on. I was juggling my accelorator and break for the best part of 3 minutes (when stopping/approaching roundabouts etc) before she stopped idling too low for me to stop briefly or slip into neutral when stopped.