Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 12:24pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Brake Discs »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Brake Discs
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Brake Discs  (Read 898 times)
Kenboy

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Brake Discs
« on: May 9th, 2004, 5:53pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi Not exactly a problem but on examination of brake discs it is apparant they will need to be changed in the near future the question I would like to ask, is could I get away with them being skimmed rather than replace with new and what is the criteria ie thickness when considering this option your constructive  opinion would be well received and although I have read up on disc renewel procedure is it as straight forward as it represents to be, thanks in advance.

Regards kenboy
IP Logged
ron_c

Why did I buy this thing????

View Profile Email

Re: Brake Discs
« Reply #1 on: May 9th, 2004, 7:00pm »

Hi Kenboy,

I did mine a couple of weeks ago. Got discs and pads for about £45 inc postage from somewhere recommended on this site - can't find the receipt right now but I found the information easily enough.  

It certainly is not worth thinking about skimming at 10 quid a disk for new lockheeds.  

It took me about an hour to do the first side and 20 mins to do the other. The trick is to read the instructions (there are two different  sets on the site) and get the righr tools together - paticularly the allen key. a torque wrench might give some security for retightening but I just gave mine all I could.  The biggest problem was removing the caliper mounts - they were a bit tight!

Good luck - and if you cannot find the supplier, send me an e-mail direct - I read em at least once a day.