Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 12:23am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« key will not open the car »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   key will not open the car
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: key will not open the car  (Read 501 times)
webbo67

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

key will not open the car
« on: Feb 9th, 2005, 10:37am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi
    key will lock the car, but will not open it. The key turns to the unlocked position,but will not open the car.
Can anybody help?

Mant Thanks

Andy
IP Logged
Thunderchild

My other car's an Aprilia

View Profile Email

Re: key will not open the car
« Reply #1 on: Feb 9th, 2005, 11:28am »

The first question is... did it ever open the car? If it did then probably the internals are worn and need to be replaced. There is a write up on the site telling you how to do this. If it didn't or you don't know, chances are that the ignition barrel has been changed and the key is different. All Ford keys will lock the car but only the correct one will open it. You may have to replace the lock internals anyway.

HTH

Thunderchild
IP Logged
Dave

Tourmallard 24v (ex-owner)

View Profile Email

« Reply #2 on: Feb 9th, 2005, 1:40pm »

Hi Andy

Yep.. what Thunderchild said.

If the key/lock is worn out then this is a massively common issue. A lot of Scorpios need new locksets after only 50-60k.