Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 6:26am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« engine noise help required please »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   engine noise help required please
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: engine noise help required please  (Read 622 times)
sardine

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

engine noise help required please
« on: Mar 10th, 2005, 10:11pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hello everyone, I'm new to the forum but am already impressed by the atmosphere and level of knowlege of the members.  I hope that in time I can contribute myself but at the moment am in need of some advice:

I bought a 95 cosworth a few weeks ago and when testing it found the very slightest rattle for less than a second on 1st startup.  From what I read, I figured this was to be expected at 80000 miles and for the price I could live with it.  

Anyway - I did about 1000 miles in great comfort and was extremely happy.   Nevertheless i dropped it into the local garage who have been very good so far with my other cars and just asked for filters and fluids type service.

The mechanic has a granada cosworth and I mentionned to him about the rattle which I felt was worsening ( it was bitterly cold and my drive is on a gradient)

He wanted to hear it cold and so I left it there and the following morning received a worrying phonecall which basicaly ammounted to either 1. get 1000GBP work done to replace chains etc or run it and hope for the best - although he didn't hold out much hope for the longevity of the engine.