Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 10:27am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Fitting an O/S wing »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Fitting an O/S wing
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Fitting an O/S wing  (Read 406 times)
Pete

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Fitting an O/S wing
« on: Mar 29th, 2005, 9:41pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Would anyone have any pointers for welding a new wing onto a 97 Scorpio? Would it be as easy as cutting the old one off and replacing it or is it a job best left to a bodyshop?.  
I have no qualms about diy as I used to be a welder and did the odd bit on cars, but that was 10 years ago.
IP Logged

may you live for as long as you want
and never want for as long as you live
Eddie

Must try a different shampoo!

View Profile

Re: Fitting an O/S wing
« Reply #1 on: Mar 30th, 2005, 5:36am »

I looks like they are spot welded along the top under the bonnet/hood.

eddie
IP Logged
bazw

fast, cheap and works you can have 2

bazopelgt   bazopelgt
View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Mar 30th, 2005, 6:08am »

sorry to say but if you have to ask you dont have the skill base to do it  Embarassed
the wings on these cars are spot welded on as part of the crumpel zone and i think they are what is called high strenth steel (a medium carbon steel that has work hardened when pressed to shape) if you weld them on you are putting to much heat in them and it removes the strenth,to put them on you would need to spot weld them as origonal or plug weld them (drill 6mm holes in the new wing and weld through the holes into the inner wing rail + bottom and sides)
all this while you keep the wing aligned in 3 dimentions so the fit lines and shut lines are right