Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 10:16pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Glowing Ignition Light »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Glowing Ignition Light
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Glowing Ignition Light  (Read 463 times)
mickf

Ultima 24V

View Profile WWW Email

Glowing Ignition Light
« on: May 7th, 2005, 9:49am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

My first post on this board when I joined a couple of years ago (wow - I am still a Newbie  Roll Eyes )was about a dimly glowing ignition light on my Ultima 24v when I bought it with 54000 on the clock.   Various helpful answers were given as to the cause and solution but needless to say I just left it as it was and didn't change the alternator or get it fixed.  

I am now up to 89000 miles on the clock, commuting, long journeys, been to Spain and back in it etc. and I have to say that I have noticed no adverse affects to the car by just leaving it. I am on the same battery that was fitted when I bought it too. Other than the gearbox needing replacing just before I drove to Spain last year (good job it broke before I went - nice £1150 bill for recon box and torque convertor) the car hasn't let me down one bit.  

I am not saying that best advice is to leave it but my experience is that having left it - it did me no harm.
IP Logged

Somewhere near the bar or looking for it.
mr._floppy

View Profile Email

Re: Glowing Ignition Light
« Reply #1 on: May 7th, 2005, 2:07pm »

Must  be just  a  indication  fault,    or  stray  illumination from an adjacent dashboard  bulb  causing  it  to look  like  the ignition warning is on.
IP Logged
Paul_Boulden

Bald Eagle

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: May 7th, 2005, 3:33pm »