Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 6:23pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« It Drives but.... »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   It Drives but....
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: It Drives but....  (Read 660 times)
cjashwell

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

It Drives but....
« on: May 23rd, 2005, 12:11pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

First post. Had the 2.3 automatic  for about 5 months and already spent loads on getting the manifold, EGR etc replaced. When these were replaced it drove like a new car. Hence recent drive has left me depressed. Driving to Manchester last week I noticed the engine missed like it was starved for a split second. It seemed ok but after stopping for a coffee the good lady noticed the tapping from the engine. The tapping disappeared when taking foot off the accelerator but appeared again as soon as I hit the gas. At idle the engine is now rough and appears to be running on only three. Increasing the revs makes the tapping clearly evident. Didn't drive back from Manachester - relayed home. Am I looking at the top end or bottom end (big end)? Any ideas very welcome.
IP Logged
Kenboy

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Re: It Drives but....
« Reply #1 on: May 23rd, 2005, 3:52pm »

Hi Before you go any further, check condition of wiring loom in particulaur under the cover were the spark plugs are located you will probably find some hardening and cracking of insulation you may need to replace this loom, quite straight forward in the meantime temporary repairs will get you by but this must only be considered as TEMPORARY..