Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 18th, 2024, 10:26pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Major electrical problems »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Major electrical problems
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Major electrical problems  (Read 1126 times)
paQ

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Major electrical problems
« on: Jul 10th, 2005, 8:05pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

All help is very welcome

Recently I bought a dealer maintained '95 scorpio wagon. 2.0 16V GLX.

After a few weeks one of the channels in the headgasket gave way, and oil got absorbed in the coolant.
When the gasket was replaced, it drove quite OK for about 600 km.

On our way abroad, very warm day, we stopped over at a road restaurant. drank and ate a little and got back at the car. I noticed that the collingfan didn't stop blowing, with the key still in my hand.

I tried to start the car. The starter was doing its best, but the engine refused. not 1 round...

Afyer trying several things, I called the foreign roadhelp. In my best French I tried to do my story. The mechanic began to check the wiring under the hood. Relais where going beserk and the fan still blew. He disconnected the large connector on the farside corner under the bonnet, near the headlight.
the fan stopped, but the relais kept ticking.

after removing some tape and shielding of the cables going to the injectors, there was a lot of blank wiring there, some of it even sparking towards the engine.

not good. He said there was nothing he could do from there.
Here the horror really starts.

I called my father who didn't live tha far away from there. He pulled the car to the nearest ford dealer. On a saturday evening...