Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 10:11pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Non Runner - suspected electrical fault »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Non Runner - suspected electrical fault
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Non Runner - suspected electrical fault  (Read 509 times)
philk1

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Non Runner - suspected electrical fault
« on: Jul 12th, 2005, 12:40pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

For the past 10 month i have been running a 97 Scorpio 2.3 auto without any problems in 18k .
Two weeks ago 1000mile trip to SCotland again fine  , next day driving to work at approx 70mph on the M62 when I heard a clicking sound and started to loose power , stopped on hard shoulder and would not start. The engine turned over freely and temp was not excessively high , checking under bonnet no oil , water or steam.
After a trip on an AA Relay wagon I carried out a few more checks
1)plugs sparking ok
2)Camshafts turning
3)Fuse pump safety cutout in boot appears ok
4)Engine spins fast enough to start.

After thinking about the clicking I now believe that it was probably a relay chattering as it was from the front of the car and the pump pump is submerged in the tank.

I foolishly though that I would find the fuel pump relay easily with 2 fuse boxes under the bonnet , but no success and I believe that some reside under the dash.

Ford do not carry the relay as stock but ordered hopefully for collection today - but need to know the location - on Ford TIS it refers to SK4 as relay shows schemstic but not details of physical location.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

In desperation I now also own a 95 Ultima 2.0 Auto

Phil
IP Logged
philk1

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile