Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 22nd, 2024, 10:27am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Eletctronic fault? »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Eletctronic fault?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Eletctronic fault?  (Read 318 times)
Stinger

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Eletctronic fault?
« on: Sep 8th, 2005, 2:59pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi,

I have a 1995 2.9 12v Ultima, with 193,500 miles on the clock. I have had and maintained this, though Ford dealers, since I bought it as the second owner in 1998.

I am having great difficulty in diagnosing a problem - the symptoms are that, whenever there is a hint of rain / humidty, the needles seem to develop a mind of their own, WITHOUT the key in!!

This results in the remote being disabled, so you have to unlock the car with the key. Putting the key in the ignition and turning has no apparent effect and the car will not do anything - you have to wait until the rain goes away, which is far from satisfactory!

I have replaced plugs and ignition leads, cleaned and reseated all fuses and relays (how do you test a relay?) in both main and auxiliary fuse boxes, sprayed everything with damp-start.

There is obviously a short-circuit somewhere, but I don't have a clue as to where to start looking!

Any help would be gratefully appreciated!
IP Logged
Simmo
Administrator

I'm an OAP !

View Profile

Re: Eletctronic fault?
« Reply #1 on: Sep 8th, 2005, 4:35pm »