Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 22nd, 2024, 6:13pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Coolant loss »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Coolant loss
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Coolant loss  (Read 388 times)
brewer

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Coolant loss
« on: Oct 3rd, 2005, 6:36pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

My '95 Cossie (74000 miles) is slowly losing coolant - every month or so the warning light comes on and I need to top it up.There's no obvious leaks,everything looks dry and there are no damp patches underneath. I recently had some bother with hesitant running from cold and a misfire (I've another thread on that) which seemed to suggest a head gasket problem , but this has been checked for and is OK.
I have occasionally noticed that when I walk past the car after a run I feel heat from the bonnet and this comes from the header tank. I've replaced the cap and this makes no difference. Any ideas please anyone?
IP Logged
des

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

View Profile

Re: Coolant loss
« Reply #1 on: Oct 3rd, 2005, 7:30pm »

does the temperature read just a little bit higher at all
IP Logged
brewer

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Oct 3rd, 2005, 8:09pm »

Not sure because I never took much notice.  
No problems towing a caravan for 100 miles though.
And I'm wondering if the header tank gets hot after a run rather than during it.
IP Logged
Snoopy
Administrator

Very old.BAD tempered and missing friends.

View Profile Email

« Reply #3 on: Oct 4th, 2005, 7:45am »

Check the bottom of the radiator for the the dreaded ballooning it can weep from there and not get noticed!
IP Logged

HELP the FORUM.Please DONATE
martin_rowe

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

View Profile

« Reply #4 on: Oct 4th, 2005, 8:30am »