Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 22nd, 2024, 6:20pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Missfire caused by Cat/Manifold ??? »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Missfire caused by Cat/Manifold ???
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Missfire caused by Cat/Manifold ???  (Read 331 times)
macmilm

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Missfire caused by Cat/Manifold ???
« on: Oct 26th, 2005, 11:11am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi,

Currently have a Missfiring 2.3 16V Manual....

I recently changed then engine in it as last one died and did it myself with help of friend....

I currently need some gasket seal between the Manifold and Cat as it is audibly blowing a bit. My question is.. Could this be causing the missfire I am experiencing Huh?

e.g. The reading from cat are incorrect causing the fuel system to be out or something like that...

What also happens (I think) is that the missfire causes the temp in the plenium chamber to rise way too high in turn causing air to expand which pushes water out through overflow from my cooling system (Usually just as I turn the engine off) so I constantly need to top water up ... But I guess when missfire is cured this will stop too.

Does this sound likely Huh

Thanks all.
IP Logged
scorpio_man
Administrator

Ford Kuga awd

View Profile Email

Re: Missfire caused by Cat/Manifold ???
« Reply #1 on: Oct 27th, 2005, 5:56am »

hi there

have you checked the wiring (fuel cut off loom) to the spark plugs and coil packs? are the spark plugs gapped correctly? an air leak could cause a misfire. have you had the car OBD-2 scanned for error codes? that might help a bit.

re water bit. might be a head gasket issue Undecided
IP Logged
macmilm

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile