Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 4:36am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Headlights just glow! »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Headlights just glow!
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Headlights just glow!  (Read 1721 times)
buffio

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Headlights just glow!
« on: Jan 9th, 2006, 10:32pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi people, newbie here!

Sad to say my first post is also my first problem with my little baby  Sad

I left work last night, started the engine and turned on the lights, all good, pulled away and hadn't gone 100 yards when the headlights seemed to go out! I stopped, got out and walked round the front and they were still on but at about the same brightness as if it was the dim-dip running lights.

All the other electrics including lights work perfectly (touch wood!!!  Tongue) it's just the headlights that both look like someone's installed a dimmer switch.

Can anybody help! I want my nice tip-top working scorpio back!
IP Logged
hepburn

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

Re: Headlights just glow!
« Reply #1 on: Jan 9th, 2006, 10:53pm »

could be a bad earth connection.  Not  sure where to point you for help but sure someone here will...
IP Logged
Geoff_W

98 Ulti2.5tdi Auto

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Jan 9th, 2006, 11:47pm »

First of all welcome

Does sound like a possible earth problem, did you try main beam if so what happened? Other possibilities include both bulbs failing within seconds of each other, (can happen) and you can now only see the sidelights.  

One of our tame electrical experts will be along any minute now Wink

Geoff
IP Logged

The winding road goes on and on... or at least it does in Northumberland
buffio

I'm a YaBB newbie!