Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 23rd, 2024, 12:38pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Three unrelated queries - 12v auto. »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Three unrelated queries - 12v auto.
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Three unrelated queries - 12v auto.  (Read 512 times)
Barnum

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Three unrelated queries - 12v auto.
« on: Jan 15th, 2006, 8:02pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi,

I have recently bought a '95 2.9 Ghia 12v after running company cars for a number of years.   I note the comments about the importance of having a battery cover, well my car does have the battery cover but the adjacent wipers linkage is exposed.  Should there be another cover here and, if so, is it important?  Also I find instruments a little too bright a night; is there a panel lights dimmer switch as I cannot seem to find one?  Finally, what kind of fuel consumption can I expect from a 12v auto?  My car struggles to beat 20 mpg though I drive it gently, mostly on uncongested A and B roads, and encounter very little traffic.  The engine runs sweet enough (62k miles with full Ford history) and 4th. gear engages every time.  I have carried out consumption tests which concur with the figure on the trip computer.  Seems odd as the 2.8 carburettor Granadas (3 speed auto) which I drove - and much harder - 20 years ago managed to do better than that..  Great site by the way, very informative! Huh
IP Logged
locky

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile WWW

Re: Three unrelated queries - 12v auto.
« Reply #1 on: Jan 15th, 2006, 9:09pm »

hi there, and welcome

I'm affraid that the fusebox next to the wiper motor does not have a cover, although early Granadas did have a foam cover fitted over the the top of them.