Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 23rd, 2024, 6:20pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Fuse 13 (Ignition lock) blowing »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Fuse 13 (Ignition lock) blowing
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Fuse 13 (Ignition lock) blowing  (Read 627 times)
Rowland

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Fuse 13 (Ignition lock) blowing
« on: Feb 15th, 2006, 12:25pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Extensive and mega expensive work has been done to this Scorpio, including wiring loom replacement and new fuse box.
Now FUSE 13  (20amp)  keeps blowing intermittantly but often enough to destroy all confidence in using the car. It has done more than 500miles and as little as 50 miles before the fuse going, leaving it stranded like a beached whale in the middle of the road. www.fordscorpio.co.uk/fuseboxes.htm shows this fuse as serving 'Ignition lock' but can anyone please help with more detail or clues as to where to look for this fault?

Bob Green
IP Logged

Rowland
Thunderchild

My other car's an Aprilia

View Profile Email

Re: Fuse 13 (Ignition lock) blowing
« Reply #1 on: Feb 15th, 2006, 7:29pm »

OK... this is likely to be a difficult one to find. Firstly what model do you have as the wiring changes across the range? I would start by checking out the wiring which goes up to the ignition switch and look for any evidence of insulation breaking down.  

Does the problem occur when something specific is happening? i.e. when braking, turning the steering wheel, accelerating etc. Might make it easier to pin down.

HTH

Thunderchild
IP Logged
Rowland

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Feb 16th, 2006, 3:52pm »

Thanks for bothering Thunderchild.