Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 23rd, 2024, 6:21pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« misfire »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   misfire
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: misfire  (Read 299 times)
Steve_Farlow

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

misfire
« on: Feb 16th, 2006, 8:21am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi everyone,

Need some more help here! (2lit 16v, 90K)

After my recent post regarding my errant EGR valve, I replaced the 2 rubber hoses and checked for blockages, attached a hose to the vacuum connection and manually checked that the valve was opening/closing, and listened for air leaks whilst the valve was open. . . all to no avail, so I disconnected the valve via it’s vacuum connection and all seemed well. . . . . .or so I thought!

Since disconnecting the valve on Monday night the car had been running great, but went to use it last night and on starting up the engine initially didn’t catch. It caught on the second turn of the key put was lumpier than the wife’s custard! My initial thought was some muck in the petrol so some serious revving followed and the engine seemed a little smoother, but still lumpier than normal, so I gave it a good thrash on the 8 miles home (as one does!). This seemed to help but you could still feel a slight misfire at tick over.

This morning the engine was lumpy from cold, smoother when hot, but again you can still feel a slight misfire at tick over.

Any ideas? Plugs? Coil packs perhaps?

Thanks
IP Logged
Dave

Tourmallard 24v (ex-owner)

View Profile Email

Re: misfire
« Reply #1 on: Feb 16th, 2006, 9:10am »

Hi Steve,

dow did you block off the valve? Is whatever you used still secure? Sounds like it may have slipped or sommat.