Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 21st, 2024, 10:16pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Faulty Horn »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Faulty Horn
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Faulty Horn  (Read 461 times)
landbarge

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Faulty Horn
« on: Apr 10th, 2006, 6:51pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

My 2.9 12 Valve no longer has a working horn.  Checks prove the horn does work and the relay is fine.  I have removed the airbag and cleaned all contacts for the horn on the steering wheel, I also separated and reconnected the multi plug.  Still no horn!  Before I remove the steering wheel and delve further; has anyone encountered this problem and solved it.  Coincidentally the airbag warning light flash rate suggests a problem behind the wheel. Any info greatfully recieved.
IP Logged
Sturdybloke

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Re: Faulty Horn
« Reply #1 on: Apr 10th, 2006, 9:00pm »

You say that the horn does work, I guess you mean that you have put 12v to it direct from the battery and you had a sound? Also you mention that you cleaned the contact behind the wheel. Try holding down the horn and turning the wheel at the same time, if you get a sound then its most likley that the clock spring needs cleaning - its a circle device that allows the wheel to turn without the wires getting caught up in the colum (happens on my Xantia every so often - the airbag light flashes and the remote sterio buttons dont work or go ballistic). Try the jiggle test first and then get back to us - Craig.
IP Logged

1995 Scorpio ultima 2.5 TD manual in red.
landbarge

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Apr 11th, 2006, 8:42pm »