Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 24th, 2024, 12:21pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« massive current draw - air con relay »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   massive current draw - air con relay
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: massive current draw - air con relay  (Read 315 times)
manscorpio

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

massive current draw - air con relay
« on: Apr 23rd, 2006, 10:27am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I have '96 cosworth estate auto and unless I remove the brown air con relay the generator light comes on.  I have just fitted the generator (to cure the the perceived problem).  I think there must be short circuit in the loom, anyone experience similar problem?  Grateful for any ideas.  By the way, with relay installed, air con is fine.
IP Logged
sector-9

No scorpio anymore

View Profile

Re: massive current draw - air con relay
« Reply #1 on: Apr 23rd, 2006, 12:41pm »

Erm, the air-con relay should be blue or green (assuming you are talking about R24 in the battery fusebox).  I'm not being picky but there is a difference; basically the relay needs to have a terminal marked 87a (not just 87 as the brown ones have).  The purpose of this relay is to cut power to the compressor at full throttle.  Also check that there is a short link in positions 1 & 0 of B9.