Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 25th, 2024, 3:57pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« 2.9 24V Cosworth wont start - No Spark at the plug »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   2.9 24V Cosworth wont start - No Spark at the plug
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3  ...  10 Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: 2.9 24V Cosworth wont start - No Spark at the plug  (Read 11538 times)
SteveS

I'm a YaBB newbie! for the time being....

View Profile Email

2.9 24V Cosworth wont start - No Spark at the plug
« on: May 6th, 2006, 9:11pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi Everyone,

I am a forum and cossie newbie....  

Just collected a 96 2.9 24V Cosworth which has been standing outside in front of a friends garage for 18 months.

Good battery, cranks nicely but won't start.

No PAT's alerts form the dash LED.  

Checked fuel cutoff in boot and the button is depressed - is this correct?

Used OBD11 setup from UKOBD which uses the Digimoto software and this reports nothing on the error codes.

Removed one of the plugs - not bad condition - crancked engine and I do get a smell of fuel from the head.

Don't get a spark from the plug when earthed and the engine crancked.......

The Low Tension (four pins) connector on the Electronic Distributor has been hacked by someone in the past and has the wires exposed but connected.

About 2 inches too the right of the distributor there is what appears to be a "condensor" (3cm square) which is bolted to the engine block with one wire coming out of it (appears  to have an exit moulding for two wires)..... This wire hangs down about 6 inches and goes no where......

Any thoughts of what to do and thanks for all the help I have got from the site so far.

Many thanks,
Steve Starr
IP Logged
Baz

S Reg. 1998 24v Cosworth S2.9 COS (Deceased)