Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 24th, 2024, 2:27pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Failing EGR system..:-? »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Failing EGR system..:-?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Failing EGR system..:-?  (Read 369 times)
kanor

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Failing EGR system..:-?
« on: May 8th, 2006, 1:48pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi.

I own a Scorpio 95' with a 2.0 16V engine and manual transmition. Since I baught it I have noticed that it starts to hesitate and behave poorly on part trottle when engine is at normal running temperature. Runs fine while cold.  
I have swapped the MAF, but same problem, so I started to sort out other problems.  
When disconnecting and plugging the vacuum hoose to EGR valve it runs 100% ok! so It seems to me like a EGR problem. Checked EGR pipes for leack, but seems ok.  
Has anybody had problems with the DPFE-sensor and is there a way to test if it's failing before buying a new one ? Undecided
Also have to mention: The car had a blocked catalyst when I baught it that I had to replace. Is it possible that this blocked cat has damaged any parts of the EGR system ?  Huh

IP Logged
bootiful-scorpios

ex     2.9 24v

View Profile

Re: Failing EGR system..:-?
« Reply #1 on: May 8th, 2006, 5:53pm »

blocked cat could you tell me how if it affected your car ? as im wondering if mine is blocked . sally
IP Logged
kanor

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: May 8th, 2006, 10:20pm »

Mine did hardly run since exaust was nerly totaly blocked. I asume that the symptoms may warry on how broken the inner parts of the cat is. Also listen for ratling sounds as mentioned here: http://www.fordscorpio.co.uk/faults_rattle.htm
IP Logged
sector-9